Time for a Cool Change!

I called Les, my mechanic (owner of Delta Car Care) a few days ago to see if he knew of a “beater” that Natalie could rent or possibly buy in order to make several upcoming trips to Chicago. He said he had a Saturn wagon he’d sell for $3,500; then he mentioned that he was also planning to sell a car he’d owned and meticulously cared-for for 11 years: A Mercedes-Benz SLK 230 Kompressor two-seater retractable-hardtop convertible for $9,500. WHAT? I SAID I’LL TAKE IT! It’s a 1999 model with less that 54,000 miles! We did the deal today: I’m gonna party like it’s 1999! Here’s my new (to me) convertible:

SLK Natalie

Natalie (in Indian Princess garb) models the SLK 230 Kompressor in our driveway!

SLK Michi Doug Ernie

Me with Michi & Ernie at their house.

This morning I decided: Why not put the Mini up for sale and see if I can sell it quickly? I posted ads on Craigslist and Nextdoor Mt. Lookout. I got three phone calls within an hour, and close to a dozen other calls or texts. In five hours, it was sold!

Picnic at Alms Park last night: We got together with some of our canoeing and backpacking friends friends for a picnic at Alms Park last night. It was a great time, in spite of the howling winds! I had my J-Tube feed system going the whole time.

Picnic1

Group photo by Natalie: From left: Bob (my brother), Sandy, Dean, me, Summer, Jen, Kathy & Jay

Picnic3

Whitewater Lady-Paddlers, from left: Sandy (an instructor), Kathy and Jen

 

2 thoughts on “Time for a Cool Change!

Leave a Reply

