Count-Down to Surgery

My surgery is scheduled for one week from today! Administratively, it’s been a bad 10 days, since my personal “patient advocate nurse” at Humana has been unreachable. It’s taken numerous phone calls to sort-out how the Mayo Clinic should get their Authorizations submitted to Humana and approved. It looks like I solved that yesterday: They can deal directly with Humana without having to go through my Primary Care Provider.

The expected technique to be used for my Esophajectomy: The Ivor Lewis technique. Click the link for some good graphics explaining that approach. UC Health had proposed a different approach, and planned to use two surgeons. At the Mayo Clinic, Dr. Mark Allen will be the only surgeon; he expects the operation to take about six hours, vs. the 10-hour procedure UC Health wanted to use. After the operation, I’ll be in Intensive Care for 2-3 days, and will likely be hospitalized 8-10 days total.

Pilots for Christ: I am again set up for a free flight with these folks. Hopefully, the weather will cooperate this time!

Quality Time with Natalie: Natalie has been been staying with us for about three weeks now. It’s taken some time, but she’s now comfortably installed in our spare bedroom, and has set up a work area in the attic. I am acting as Copy Editor for the books she is writing about her four months in St. Thomas. Most of the creative writing is done, but its grueling work getting from raw drafts to finished copy!

My younger brother Bob from France is also here for a week: He arrived late-afternoon Monday, and is staying in an Airbnb about a mile away. It’s walkable, with Mt. Lookout Square about half-way in-between. He and Natalie spent yesterday afternoon at the Cincinnati Art Museum.

Here is a photo from my older brother Bill’s wedding last fall:

Wedding Party

Back Row, L-to-R: Natalie, me, Jen, Bob & Elizabeth (Bill’s daughter); Front: Jane and Bill

I finally bought myself a decent Bass Amplifier: I was at Stereo Advantage yesterday getting a turntable repaired. I asked if he had a decent Bass Amp for sale, and he said he had a great old Peavy. For $100, I traded-in my crappy 20-watt Ibanez practice amp for this Minx 110 model:

Peavy Minx™ 110

 

4 thoughts on “Count-Down to Surgery

  1. I will be following your journey like a a detective…Is there is anything you would like from all of us out in the kayaking/friend world?…the obvious is support and loving energy…l know laughter has good healing energy…but “Keeping you in stitches” may not be therapeutic…Ok, no puns allowed…
    Seriously, let me know if need anything you are not getting from us…
    Thank you for reaching out with your posts…Mariann

Leave a Reply

