It’s 4 a.m.; I just played the only card I’m holding on change.org: The Cancer Card!

My Petition to Ivanka: My readers will recall that early on, I made frequent reference to my change.org petition to Ivanka Trump, asking her to persuade her father to change his position on Climate Change: https://www.change.org/p/please-save-the-planet

During treatments, I’ve taken my eye off the ball, and the petition has flat-lined. Today, I’m kicking-it up again, with the goal of having it go viral, getting as many signatures as possible by Earth Day 2017, which is Saturday, April 22nd. I will close the petition that day, and change.org will deliver our signatures to her then. Take a look at my latest post.

With Jaime

With Jaime, my terrific social worker, just before leaving the hospital.

Getting back to Friday: I felt fine until I started the 20-minute drive home (I was driving alone). Suddenly, my esophagus flared-up like it was on fire. My head started to explode. I used Qi Gong to maintain my focus until I got home. I was a basket case. I downed a big slug of my prescription Magic Mouthwash, and before long felt like a human being again.

The rest of Friday and Saturday I ping-ponged between near-normalcy and the “darkness at the edge of town”. Under-nourished; dehydrated; loopy at times. Trying like crazy to get any kind of food or drink to go down.

I did finally get some sleep last night, but that was over by 3:30. I had some things to do on change.org and this blog! It’s 4:30 now.

Getting back to Dangerous Dan McGrew: This is a wonderful poem. I made mention of something special about it in a comment last week, but most of you probably missed it. So, here I go again; it concerns this passage:

Then on a sudden the music changed, so soft that you scarce could hear;
But you felt that your life had been looted clean of all that it once held dear;
That someone had stolen the woman you loved; that her love was a devil’s lie;
That your guts were gone, and the best for you was to crawl away and die.
‘Twas the crowning cry of a heart’s despair, and it thrilled you through and through – 
“I guess I’ll make it a spread misère, said Dangerous Dan McGrew.

Dan was a card player, but this wasn’t about playing cards. In cards, a spread misère is a hand so bad that you believe you cannot possibly take a trick. But: It can still be a winning hand if you bid a spread misère: If you lose every trick, you win the pot!

Dangerous Dan knew from the moment he laid eyes on the miner that he would shortly be a dead man. His way of going-out in a blaze of glory was to bid that spread misère regarding the real-life hand he had just been dealt!! He was shot dead moments later, winning his final bet, but of course unable to collect! C’est la vie; c’est la mort!

Meanwhile, the Lady that’s Known as Lou gets the final line:
   The woman that kissed him and, pinched his poke, was the lady that’s known as Lou.

She’s kissing her old lover (the miner) tenderly as she relieves him of his “poke” (sack of gold dust), which she presumes he has no further need of! C’est la vie in Alaska!

One more synergistic thing: I received a book in the mail from my brother Bill yesterday (see photo below). The cover insert begins with this quote from the author:

We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.

Book from Bill

Leave a Reply

